Result, Peshawar’s PK-8 By-Election 12 May 2016.Polling for PK-8 seat is underway Thursday after it was vacated following Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Arbab Akbar Hayat’s demise.

Polling for the by-election began at 8 am and will conclude at 5pm. More than police and army personnelare guarding total 98 polling stations formed in the constituency.

Security concerns loom over the by-election as 40 polling centres were declared extremely sensitive, 47, sensitive and 11 were declared normal. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shehzad Khan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Asif Iqbal, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Malik Tehmash and Awami National Party’s (ANP) Ejaz Samyab among 15 contestants.

PTI, JUI and PPP are likely to line by one another in the results with close margins.

Number of registered voters in PK-8 is over 1.36 lac however, turnout is dismal in the early hours. Media are permitted limited coverage of the by-election.

It should be noted here that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf will manage a ‘clean sweep’ in Peshawar if Shehzad Khan wins the seat. Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) had withdrawn in favour of PTI earlier

Peshawar PK-8 by-election Updated Result



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment